Inclusivity In Storytelling: Why I’m Against It

Catholic In The 21st Century

Inclusivity: An intention or policy of including people who might otherwise be excluded or marginalized, such as those who are handicapped or learning-disabled, or racial and sexual minorities.

When I say “I am against inclusitivity,” what I mean is this: I am against the notion that all stories must be inclusive.

What do I mean by that?

I mean this:

I’ve been asked “Why not include a ___ character in your story?”

That’s a good question: Why shouldn’t I have ___ characters, ___ characters, or ___ characters in my story?

My answer is: Because a story with ___ characters is not the kind of story I want to tell.

When it comes to the stories I write, the quality of the story is my #1 priority: I will not sacrifice my vision on the altar of political correctness.

A thought experiment:

Imagine that you are in a horrific accident and…

View original post 265 more words

Leave a Reply

