Artificial For A Reason

I’d usually write more than this but I think a fairly short rant is more appropriate for the subject.

As we progress and our technology advances further into the future, we will obviously have much smarter Artificial Intelligence – but not only will they be know-it-alls, they are said to be able to feel like humans do. However, I strongly counter the argument of A.I’s becoming 1701% human. I say a human beings judgement is far superior and always will be to that of an artificial intelligence. Out of all that knowledge, all those facts, they’ll never truly know how to feel like we do. They’ll never know how – not why but how – it affects us so profoundly. They’ll never know the true feeling of our bonds with one another. A.I.’s can know all the facts, all the reasons why that bond is so, but they cannot know how it feels to a human being. They can only know how it feels to themselves. This is what sets man and machine apart.

I could give you over forty thousand reasons why I know that sun isn’t real. I know it because the emitter’s Rayleigh Effect is disproportionate to its suggested size. I know it because its stellar cycle is more symmetrical than that of an actual star. But for all that, I’ll never actually know if it looks real. If it feels real. 
Cortana


Almost Human excerpt from Season One, Episode Two – Skin:

The conversation follows two artificial intelligences talking about Charlene. Charlene is another artificial intelligence.

Vanessa: Do you know where Charlene is?

Dorian: Yes.

Vanessa: Can I see her?

Dorian: Why do you want to?

Vanessa: I don’t know.

To clarify my point, A.I.’s can have the facts and could feel for themselves but cannot know what the feeling for humans may be. They will only know the facts as to why a bond impacts us more than them and therefore cannot feel it in the same manner as we do.

Quote from Star Trek: The Original Series – Season 3, Episode 19: Requiem for Methuselah

“You see, I feel sorrier for you than I do for him because you’ll never know the things that love can drive a man to. The ecstasies, the miseries, the broken rules, the desperate chances, the glorious failures, the glorious victories. All of these things you’ll never know simply because the word love isn’t written into your book.”

– McCoy, to Spock

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

