Say

Note: This isn’t exactly a vent or a rant. More like an awakening I guess.

I have always felt as if I’m Covered In Rain. Never to step out of the shadow of the dark clouds that surround me. But lately I noticed my depression has been leaving me bit by bit. And with all the negative shit I’ve been dealing with, I found music is the ultimate healer. The lyrics to literally all of John Mayer’s songs is exactly how I’ve felt all my life. His song called No Such Thing for example:

“Welcome to the real world”
She said to me condescendingly
Take a seat, take your life
Plot it out in black and white

Well, I never lived the dream of the prom kings
And the drama queens
I’d like to think the best of me
Is still hiding up my sleeve

—–
It’s always been people telling me the way things are and then me discovering that life is actually the exact opposite of what I’ve been told about and taught to do or act. Basically you’re fed bullshit and sooner or later you figure it all out and go your own way.

Society, to me, is an ocean of asinine, arrogant, self entitled and self-centered authoritarians. Now that is not to say there aren’t a bunch of good people. There are tons of people who are so down to earth that I am honored to come to know. They have helped me quite a lot throughout my life so far.

In my perspective, society refuses to allow people to simply enjoy life. They want you to be another cog in the machine just to support yourself and essentially, live. As well as contribute to the economy, etc you get the picture. If you want to have fun, you’ve got to beat the crap system which is a load of bullshit. However, as an optimistic person, if this is the way it is, then challenge accepted. I’ve never been the type to back down and bow to so called rules and leaders.

People like John Mayer, Michael J. Fox, Robert Downey Jr., Bruce Lee, Quentin Tarantino, Stephen Hawking, Karl Urban, and many many more (who I’d like to name but would make this post the length of the entire Lord of the Rings Trilogy and beyond) have beaten this so called system in society. They did what they wanted to accomplish and continue to do more regardless of what roadblocks they encounter and regardless of what society so condescending remarks about.

John Mayer became a successful musician and was bound determined about it, too. Regardless of what family members told him. He addressed this in later years admittedly saying it was a huge leap but he did it. I believe it was in this video:

Without a doubt, I have to agree with every word.

They love to tell you
Stay inside the lines
But something’s better
On the other side

Mayer speaks his mind through song lyrics. And undoubtedly, it’s the truth about life.

“Say” was the first song I got hooked on. It was a huge refresher and turned me towards a better outlook and perspective on life. I was always the quiet kid in the back of the room; unwilling to speak, thinking my opinion, my thoughts didn’t mean anything. I felt I was speaking gibberish.

Have no fear for giving in
Have no fear for giving over
You’d better know that in the end
Its better to say too much
Then never say what you need to say again

But after that one song, everything changed. Yes, I did lose myself for a long while but now I’ve found what I’ve been looking for. That fun and “magic” I loved as a kid. I see I don’t have to be an “adult” and pessimistic to flourish; to be a success.

My point is, I’m done letting rules, regulations, stereotypes, whatever drag me down ever again. I can accomplish whatever I please. I can do what I want and don’t care what anyone says. I know my limits and I want to explore. I want to experience new things and live a fulfilling life.

image

I’ll end with this:

image

Leave a Reply

