Was it worth it?

“This. Is this what you wanted? Is this what you were looking for? Was everything you’ve compromised, everything you’ve done, worth it?”
— Master Chief Petty Officer John-117

These days that quote swirls around my mind almost 24/7. Why? Its thought-provoking. All my life (though I’m a bit young to be saying that I have however been through a lot already for my age) I’ve wanted to accomplish something more. I wanted to be an inspiration to others. I wanted to crawl my way out of this depression pit of which I sunk into and lead the pack. And so far, I’ve done exactly what I wanted to do and then some. But looking back, was it worth it? Was it worth disobeying my abusive family in an effort to seek out and achieve a great goal? Was it worth the risk of failing school–winging assignments every day of the week, avoiding the long studies that drove me mad? I say it was worth every f**ing penny. Because if you’ve only got one life, there is no reason as to why you shouldn’t take a leap.

Below is my all time favorite quote by a fictional character:

“There are those satisfied by common pursuits and those for whom the extraordinary will never be enough.”
— Marcus Fenix – Gears of War

gears.png

To me it also says people are capable of doing more than they could have ever conjured up. As Robin Williams once said “No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change the world.”

12991006_886854188090695_6962675564981179196_n

With that being said, my primary goal is to change society. Or if not that, at least influence a change because violence, wars, and hate, is not the answer. Sure, kill off the terrorists, fight for freedom. But after that is all set and done, if humanity is to survive and thrive for many more years to come we must support each other not shove ideas down everyone’s throat. We already accept the differences between one another. So rather than continuing to argue about it, why not cooperate and do something worthwhile? Say, I don’t know, finding a cure for cancer? Maybe even cures for diseases still affluent in society such as Diabetes, Parkinson’s, etc. Furthermore, we could start using less toxic alternatives to power cities. Instead of risking damaging the environment with nuclear power plants, hydrogen can be used. And instead of relentlessly polluting the atmosphere with fuel emissions, we can run automobiles off of hydrogen. Did you know there are already busses running off of hydrogen? It can be done across the globe.

74000469

All in all, what I’ve done so far, it was worth every second, every moment. Yes, I admit there were times where I knew better and shouldn’t of gotten involved but if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have learned some valuable lessons, expanded my views, my horizons, and even job opportunities. And I wouldn’t of met all the lovely people that I am honored to have as my best friends. It was worth it because I am now motivated more than I have ever been to fulfill my goal — to inspire a change and actually make a change.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

